Log in

August 2022 Book Club

  • August 16, 2022
  • 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • The Wine Pub, 2907 Shelter Island Drive #108,

Registration


Register

August Book Club
When: Tuesday August 16th at 7 pm
Where: The Wine Pub
2907 Shelter Island Dr #108, San Diego, CA 92106


Summer is starting to wind down but there is still plenty of fun to be had at book club! Join us in August when we will be discussing Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus. Please RSVP so reservations can be made.

Book description from Goodreads "A delight for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute takes a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with--of all things--her mind. True chemistry results.

But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ("combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride") proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo.

Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters, Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist."

Looking ahead: Book club meets at 7 pm on the third Tuesday of every month. The book club selection for September is The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland by Jim DeFede.
THIS IS A NON-FEDERAL ENTITY. IT IS NOT A PART OF THE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE OR ANY OF ITS COMPONENTS AND IT HAS NO GOVERNMENTAL STATUS.
Contact Us
 Sand Dollar Shops
Naval Officers' Spouses' Club of San Diego
941 Orange Avenue, Box 233, Coronado, CA 92118


 Balboa Hospital, Naval Medical Center - San Diego CA 92135
Tel. (619) 618-5848 | Open Monday thru Friday 10:30 AM to 1:30 PM

Inquiries:  president@noscsandiego.com
Events/Calendar:  events@noscsandiego.com
Website, Newsletter, & Social Media:  communications@noscsandiego.com

 Naval Air Station North Island, San Diego CA 92135
Tel. (619) 437-7953 | Open Monday thru Friday 10:30 AM to 1:30 PM

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software